How to remove Nest Cam from account

Nest is by far an all-around great company that provides security cameras, both outdoor and indoor, and the famous Nest thermostat. Nest is now a part of Google, making it an even better integration to your home. In this post, I will go over how to remove Nest Camera from your account.

The Google Nest Cameras come in both outdoor and indoor options that can be easily integrated into your home and monitored through any mobile device by downloading the Nest app.

They provide peace of mind while you are on the go because you can access all the cameras and footage in the palm of your hand. Furthermore, you can check the cameras 24/7 regardless of location or time. 

Alerts can be set up for any movement and can keep you updated as to what is happening when you aren’t around. This can be great for big travelers, parents with kids, or to babysit the babysitter. You are even able to connect the Nest to Alexa and project it in the Alexa Show in your home.

Nevertheless, it is possible that you will need to remove the Nest Camera from your account for various different reasons. Let’s go over why you would need to and how to do it.

Why would you need to remove Nest Camera from your account?

Nest Cam

There are plenty of reasons you might need to remove a Nest Camera from the logged-in account. Here are a couple motives:

  1. You are moving into a new home
  2. Moving out and leaving the cameras for the next tenant
  3. Replacing cameras with a new model or new brand
  4. A broken camera still shows up on your account
  5. Connected the wrong camera to your account
  6. Hard factory reset the camera

All of these reasons only show a little of the various motives to remove a camera. And trust me when I say that the removal process is incredibly straightforward.

Let’s go over number six on the list, as it is crucial to know a couple things about the process. 

Hard Factory Reset

These are just a few reasons why you might have to disconnect the Nest Camera from the account. However, one, in particular, that might cause you issues if not done right. 

Suppose the reasoning behind you removing the Nest Camera’s connection to the app is because you plan to reset it. In that case, you must consider a few things. 

One of them is that resetting causes the camera to completely be wiped, and it will not remember the Wi-Fi nor the password. Thus, you will have to go through the entire process of logging the camera in as if it was the first time.

Secondly, resetting it will cause the camera to show on the Nest app as “offline” and will cause you issues down the road. Therefore, it is crucial to remove Nest Cam from the account before resetting it to avoid this potential issue. 

Remember that access to data that was not saved will be erased once you remove the camera. Before resetting, make sure you have everything you need.

Removing a Nest Camera from account

The steps to remove it are user-friendly and straightforward.

  1. Log in to your Nest App on your mobile device or tablet
  2. Locate the Menu option that is on the top left corner, then select it
  3. Click on the home space you have created for your household
  4. Once you have correctly located your home space, select “Settings.”
  5. You will be shown a list of devices that are present in your home; you will then choose the one you want to remove.
  6. Choose the option to remove it from your account, and confirm

Moving houses and changing owners

If you are moving into a home with the Nest Cameras already set up, you can personally talk to the owner about taking over the account by changing the password and email so the previous owners have no connection to the camera.

Removing the previous owners is a crucial step to keep your house private. You do not want a creep ex-owner spying in on your home and your life. 

If you are the one selling your house, take the initiative to set up the cameras for the new owners. Remove them all from your account, and reset each one to ensure their privacy. 

However, if you moved in and the owners did not set it up for you, you can always contact the previous owners or simply contact Nest. With a little bit of information for security purposes, they can aid you in fixing the cameras and resetting them.

The Bottom Line

The process of removing a Nest Camera from the account can be done in minutes and overall shows how user-friendly and simple the Nest brand is. 

Furthermore, there is an abundance of reasons to remove a Nest Camera from your account; thus, it is an integral part of the process to know how to do so.

Previous Post
Secured By ADT
ADT

ADT alarm without monitoring: Can I self-monitor?

Next Post
SimpliSafe
SimpliSafe

How to Reset Simplisafe Base Station

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!